You are reading: Annual Regional Development Collaboration Workshop

Annual Regional Development Collaboration Workshop

Staff from all nine of the state’s regional development commissions gathered in Busselton for the annual Regional Development Collaboration Workshop in February.

Feb 29, 2024 | Read Time : 2 minutes

The Regional Development Collaboration Workshop, is an annual event bringing together regional development staff from across WA, to collaborate, share knowledge, and discuss common challenges and solutions specific to regional communities.

Hon Don Punch MLA and Mellisa Teede SWDC CEO at opening event

The Hon Don Punch MLA, Minister for Regional Development, attended the welcome event on the first evening, whereby commission staff had the opportunity to meet, network and familiarise themselves with their counterparts across the state. During this first day, regional development practitioners also embarked on regional tours in the South West, bearing witness to successful examples of regional development.

Busselton Foreshore tour

Over the 2 day workshop, Commission staff presented projects from their respective regions, discussed the WA Regional Development Framework, and solidified the importance of collaboration, coordination and alignment amongst regional development practitioners. A major component of the workshop was a design thinking session where groups focused on working through possible regional projects from idea to pitch, focused on the theme of liveability.

Paul Isaachsen (DPIRD) opens the workshop

The annual Regional Development Collaboration Workshop is a valuable exercise in information sharing, and network strengthening between the regional development commissions working throughout the state.

The workshop was hosted by South West Development Commission, with attendees from the Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development, Gascoyne Development Commission, Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission, Kimberley Development Commission, Mid West Development Commission, Peel Development Commission, Pilbara Development Commission, Wheatbelt Development Commission.